Introduction to School of Medicine

The School of MedicineatTsinghua University was founded in October 2001 with Dr. Jieping Wu, a well-known medical scientist and academician of both the Chinese Academy of Sciences and Chinese Academy of Engineering as the first dean. Biologist Dr. Nanming Zhao, Structural Biologist Dr. Yigong Shi, Neurobiologist Dr. Bai Lu and Immunologist Dr. Chen Dong served as executive vice dean successively. At present, Dr. Hai Qi servesas the dean of the Tsinghua School of MedicinefromDecember 2020.

Tsinghua School of Medicine is committed to excellence in education and research. We endeavor fostering talents for those whowoulddevote to the industry and engage in scientific research, medical service, medical science education andtechnical innovation.

The Tsinghua School of Medicine has established an international reputation for itsmany considerable achievements in different specializations. A large number of ongoingcutting-edge researches are undertaken which is believed to enjoy broad prospects for industrial transformation. During the visit of inspecting anti-epidemic scientific researchon March 2, 2020,Xi Jinping, the General Secretary of the People’s Republic of China, was impressed and spoke highly ofthe Tsinghua School of Medicine’s work of virus nucleic acid detection and antibody vaccine development.

The Tsinghua School of Medicine is made up of three departments, that is Department of Basic Medical Sciences, Department of Biomedical Engineering and Department of Clinical Medicine. Nine research fields, including immunology, oncobiology, infectious diseases, neuroscience and neural engineering, cell and molecular biology, medical imaging, biomedical engineering, public health, and clinical medicine are currently those fields covered. Four of those disciplines - immunology, microbiology and infectious diseases, neuroscience as well as molecular and biology - rank in the top 1% of ESI worldwide.